CBPP Leadership Fellows Juniors Build Their Public Speaking Skills

Clark Leadership Fellows Juniors demonstrated their public speaking skills to a panel of six judges


Leadership Fellows 01 CBPP'sLeadership Fellows Juniors competitively and eloquently demonstrated their public speaking skills to a panel of six judges on March 7th. The idea for the event stemmed from a conversation Clark Middle School’s Principal Williams had with CBPP's Faculty Director of the Leadership Fellows Program, Dr. Terry Nelson, during the development of the junior program. The program consists of sixteen Clark Middle School 8th graders and is the junior counterpart to CBPP's Leadership Fellows program which consists of 10 MBA and 5 undergraduate students.

Leadership Fellows Juniors 02 In addition to the CBPP Fellows, the Junior Fellows were mentored on public speaking by UAA students and alumni and community members. After a 20-minute tutorial on public speaking conducted by Dr. Kori Callison, the juniors randomly selected a topic to present.  Topics covered a broad range of leadership themes such as obstacles, integrity, community, challenges, etc.  The juniors along with guidance from their mentors had approximately 15 minutes to prepare a 2 – 3 minute speech which was delivered on stage at Clark Middle School’s auditorium.

The juniors displayed their amazing ability to articulate a subject on short notice. After much deliberations, the judges announced the winners: 1st place – Julian Rivera-Brown/mentor: Robert “Beau” Bassett, 2nd – Nuulau Alaela /mentor: Nick Morrill, and 3rd - Chai Chai Xiong/mentor: Sarah Henry.  All students were awarded a small prize for their participation.

Many thanks to our judges:  Jay Blury – VP, Marketing and Communications Director at Northrim Bank, Marva Watson – Director, UAA Office of Campus Diversity and Compliance, Margo Bellamy - Executive Director, Compliance/EEO at Anchorage School District, Jeri Rubin – Professor of Marketing, UAA College of Business and Public Policy, Brian J. Franklin – CEO, Frontier Tutoring, and Judith Owens-Manley – Director, UAA Center for Community Engagement & Learning.

Leadership Fellows Juniors 03 Special thanks to Jazmine Williams – UAA MSHEd, Admin. Asst. UAA Office of Campus Diversity and Compliance, Robert C. Beau Basset – Director, Friends of Alaska PYLI, Jacob Shercliffe – UAA Student & Member of the Seawolf Debate Team, Leo Medal – UAA Multicultural Center Student Success Coordinator, Stephanie White Thorne, Esq., CBPP Associate Dean Lynn Koshiyama, and CBPP Leadership Fellows.